Using enamel threads

Home Forums Glass Fusing General Fusing Discussion Using enamel threads

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    sherrylynn
    Participant

I am new to the forum and have what is probably a stupid question.  Can enamel threads be fused on my jewelry?  I am new to the fused glass scene and have a lot to learn.  Thanks, Sherrylynn

rgilbert
    Participant

In a word, no.The glass threads that are used for copper enameling are a different COE than those used for fused glass.Thompson Enamels carries an enamel for the glass you may want to use.

I have melted the threads in molds I’ve made with some success. You have to watch the temperature and the time. Old threads can also become scummy in use because the metals in the glass threads (creating the color) react to the air. My first attempts were scummy, gray slags that resembled nothing I’d take credit for. With better control of the kiln (I slowly ramped up to the melting point, then cut the temp, allowed it to drift down to an annealing point, soaked the glass, then allowed it to cool), I had some very pretty bits that I could then incorporate in other cold work. I’d provide the notes, but those were damaged in a flood recently and aren’t much good to anyone unless you’ve got x-ray vision. I did anneal the threads because they ended up being in items that were 1/2 to 1 inch in thickness. The colors ran together in ways I could not expect.

I’ve also “painted” with them on a kiln shelf. It was just a matter of laying the items on the shelf in an attractive pattern (like a star) and then fusing the stuff together. I know I wasn’t as careful in annealing as I would be with thicker items, but I got some pretty dynamic Christmas ornaments for a bazaar one year.I know I was very slow in melting those since I didn’t have a clue what I was doing and just seemed to be the right thing to do.