Questions from a beginner – can you help?

Home Forums Glass Fusing General Fusing Discussion Questions from a beginner – can you help?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    MaximalDesigns
    Participant

Hi, I’m Rachel. I’m a total newbie at fusing, but a long time admirer of fused glass. And I’m using newbie tools – the microwave kiln. The Fuseworks one, to be specific.

I have some concerns. Up until yesterday I had never broken a piece. Before yesterday I had also never used a layer of clear glass over top of my pieces. Yesterday I made two pieces with clear glass over top and they turned out great! Then I started looking at a piece I had made previously. It hadn’t turned out so well; I didn’t leave it in long enough and the edges were still sharp. It also didn’t have the clear layer over top. I had read that it’s okay to fuse a piece twice. Maybe this was a mistake. But I decided to put this old piece back in with a layer of clear over the top.

Midway through firing I heard a sound. I opened up to check on my piece and it had broken. The glass had moved off the kiln paper and onto the kiln surface, which I know can permanently damage the kiln. I quickly grabbed a pair of tweezers and pulled the glass off the kiln; it appeared to come off cleanly so I thought no harm done. But when I removed the kiln paper I noticed that it was browned and had left a small brownish stain on the kiln itself. I figured this must have happened because it was a previously fired piece, as I had never had a problem like this before.

Just now I tried to do another piece, not using any previously fired glass, and the same thing happened, so I’m thinking the problem isn’t with refiring a piece. Now the stain on my kiln is quite a dark brown. Have I ruined my kiln?

Thanks so much in advance for any help you can give!

Stephen Richard
    Participant