Question about schedules

Home Forums Glass Fusing General Fusing Discussion Question about schedules

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    lorin
    Participant

Good morning! I browsed the topics and could not find anyone with this question. I am brand new to firing glass. I bought a Paragon CS-16D. I followed your schedule for full fusing a two layer 6 1/2 inch plate. Before I started the kiln I reviewed the segments and it looked fine. AND the glass came out great. But your schedule said it would take approximatley 14 hours to run but it actually ran 23 hours. Before I call and ask Paragon if I am having a problem (and look like an idiot) could anyone tell me if this is normal? Thanks for any help you can offer this newbie.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Did you leave the kiln closed until it got to room temperature? If so that would explain it.

Kilns cool very slowly as they get closer to the outside temperature – much slower than called for in the schedule. Most people (myself included) start venting the kiln when it gets to 500° F or so by wedging the lid open slightly with a little fiber board or similar. Just be careful not to go so fast you thermal shock your work.

Paul
    FusedGlass.Org
    Helios Kiln Glass Studio
    PaulTarlow.com

lorin
    Participant

AHA! I thought I should never ever ever open the kiln until it said “completed”. The last segment didn’t end until 23 hours. A very loooong 23 hours. Thanks for the quick response!

onward and forward.

wordana
    Participant

Also, that’s a 16″ firebrick kiln running on 120 V. 16″ is about the maximum size that can run on a 120 V circuit. Your “as fast as possible” temp is going to be a lot slower than a smaller kiln or the same size or larger kiln running on 240. My Paragon Fusion 14 (14″) is pretty slow getting up to full fuse temps.

I still love it :).

Dana W.

Jester’s Baubles Fused Glass Designs

http://www.jestersbaubles.com

JeffP
    Participant

Hi Dana