Pitting/hazing on surface or just not a smooth surface. Please help!

Home Forums Glass Fusing General Fusing Discussion Pitting/hazing on surface or just not a smooth surface. Please help!

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    FlickerFire
    Participant

I’m sure this has been asked before and I have searched for answers but I can’t seem to find any info that helps me. I am new to this and I know I should take a class, but money is tight at the moment…

I have an Evenheat Studio 8 kiln with the manual temp adjust and I’m using shelf paper. I’ve researched on how to make “puddles” as this site calls them and I’ve had success making the puddles, however, they don’t always come out perfect. I thought the problem before was temps getting above 1500, so I babysat one firing so this wouldn’t happen and they came out with a hazy kind of surface.
    I held the temp around 1450 for about an hour, (babysitting it to make sure it didn’t surpass that temp) then open and closed the lid down to 1000, the left the lid half open until 500, then took them out of the kiln to cool.

The sides are perfectly smooth and shiny, but the surfaces aren’t. I tried heat smoothing them again, but it didn’t do anything. I’m not sure if I did it right.

I thought maybe my kiln isn’t clean? or am I being to hasty? or the glass isn’t clean? (I do tend to forget to wash the glass and my hands before putting them in the kiln..)
    I also fire PMC3 in the same kiln.

I’ve done some firings and the pieces come out perfect, then do another and they look bad. I’ve also had some pieces get this haze and others be just fine from the same firing.

I don’t know what type of glass they are since I bought them for the stained glass that I do.

Here’s some pictures. That oval one in the middle probably is the best example.

hazy glass

hazy surface

haze

You can see it better on the one in the back that part of it is fine when another part is hazy.