Newbie Questions

Home Forums Glass Fusing General Fusing Discussion Newbie Questions

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    RonJon0720
    Participant

Hello – I’m a newbie with 2 weeks of reading and zero classroom time.  I’ve spent hours researching and watching videos and searching for information on glass fusing, specifically dichroic jewelry.  I’ve made a few pieces so far but have not actually “finished” them out.  They’ve been fired and nothing else.  My biggest problem with them so far is that the edges are rough.  The top clear layer doesn’t flow over all the edges cleanly.  So here are some questions:

1.  Should the top layer be the exact same size as the the bottom layer or slightly larger?

2.  Can I refire these pieces and smooth this out or should I grind/sand them first and then refire?  Do I add another layer of glass?

3.  When I refire – is the firing schedule the same except for ramp up – just go slower?

4.  With dichroic glass – if I have a piece that has a black back – do I have to put it on top of a base or can the back of the dichroic piece be the back of the final piece?

5. And lastly (for this post :0)..) if I want to create a dichro piece with layers…do I create the first piece (usually with a dark base and then chosen black backed dichroic pieces) with a clear piece on top and then fire it?  Then on the second step layer the clear dichroic glass and another piece of clear on top?  I’m not clear on how to achieve that layered look I’ve seen online that I love.  Or do I put it together like this:  base + dichro bits/pieces on black + clear dichro piece (with dichro sides not touching) + clear top base?  I’m thinking I have to fire twice to achieve that layered look, but want to make sure.