Newbie having trouble

Home Forums Glass Fusing General Fusing Discussion Newbie having trouble

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    RockyGlenGlass
    Participant

Hi everyone :)

I’m new to glass fusing and am having a bit of trouble. I’m using my grandmother’s kiln which she used for porcelain – it’s a Ward LT3. I’d like to use it to make dichroic jewellery but instead of using up my dichroic on test fires, I’m just using some scraps of glass (my mother in law does leadlight work so it’s a mixture of all sorts of glass). My kiln just has a dial to set temperature (low, 1-5, high) so I don’t know what number is what temperature. I know there’s different COEs to take into account.

I’ve tried firing at different settings and for different times but my glass just shatters. I let the kiln cool down completely overnight before I open it but that doesn’t seem to make a difference.

What am I doing wrong? :)

Thanks,

Sarah

Vernelle
    Participant

Glass used in stained glass can be all different brands, Spectrum, Kokomo, Wissmach, etc.  They will not mix.  They will shatter when combined.  You need to try glass from the same piece together.  They may turn an ugly color but maybe you could still find out the temperature ranges on the kiln

svb716
    Participant

On the one hand, I put so much energy in to fussing over the temperatures for each stage that having to choose between just 5 choices might make life easier.  On the other hand, I am a control freak and not knowing the exact temp would be a personal challenge.

I echo the response above about mixing the glasses being your likely problem.  Even within a brand the colors can be different.  Unless its all from the same sheet you have to assume it won’t match.

charfort
    Participant