New to fusing and completely addicted

Home Forums Glass Fusing General Fusing Discussion New to fusing and completely addicted

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Mothsgal
    Participant

Hello!  I’m writing to introduce myself….I’m new to this site and to fusing.  I am a self employed artist painting murals, furniture and anything else that will sit still long enough.  I also make custom ceramic tiles and painted ceramic tiles, sinks and other fixtures for clients.  I’ve been doing this for 25 years and I had my first fusing experience by accident when I was experimenting in my kiln many years ago and had a very fun accident. It ruined the piece I was working on but the glass was very fun.  I didn’t get another chance to work with glass until I took a class about 6 months ago and now I’m completely hooked.

I’ve made several pieces so far and I’ve been learning so much.  I’ve decided to dedicate some serious time to fusing and actually make a glass studio in the corner of my basement.  I have a Scutt kiln with a kiln master controller that I use for my ceramic work that I plan to use (for now) for my fusing….I know, you’re all cringing and I can hear the “ugh”s from here…but it’s what I have so I’ll have to work with it for now.  It has been in storage for a year as our basement is under construction.  I plan on bringing it home and setting it up this week.  Any advice?  I’m wondering if putting fire brick around the perimeter and letting the heat spill over the top and block the heat coming diretly from the elements would be helpful?  I know I’ll have to do some experimenting and lot’s of note taking.  I’ve been taking my pieces to the studio where I took the class and I’d rather be in control of my pieces and responsible for my own losses rather than paying someone else fuse them the way they want them fused.