microwave kiln question

Home Forums Glass Fusing General Fusing Discussion microwave kiln question

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    dinosauarwoman
    Participant

I am very very new to fused glass.  I took a class in a retirement village (i am a snowbird) and fell in love with making jewelry.  i have alot of 96 COE glass on hand here, but am now back at my home and won’t be back to my class i AZ until next fall.  I have been reading about microwave kilns and it appears to me that they all require 90 COE glass.  Is there a low priced kiln out there that I can use my 96 glass?  I don’t want to spend alot of money on this kiln as I realize that they can be very pricey!….I just would like to continue to make a few things for pure enjoyment and gift giving.    Another question:  how many layers of glass can be baked in a microwave kiln?  the info I have read seems to say TWO layers max.  The jewelry I made were two and three layers of glass.  Also can anyone tell me how large of a piece I can bake in the microwave kiln?  I hope these questions are not too stupid….I read the info about these kilns and they all give the measurements.  That is fine, but I could not find info about the actual size of piece I can bake in it.  Kissany info about the microwave kilns is greatly appreciated!

Stephen Richard
    Participant

My first inclination is to say don’t get one.  But on reflection they can be useful for small pieces.

If you are doing jewellery scale work, you won’t have to worry about going to 3 layers.  The reason for avoiding 3 layers on larger pieces, is that the kiln cools too quickly to anneal other than 6mm (t layers).  Of course you can use 3 layers of thin glass and not exceed the thickness suggested.

The kiln will work with any fusible glass – S96, Bullseye, Uroboros, Artista, etc.  Although you cannot mix them in one project.

Stephen Richard

blogs at: http://www.verrier-glass.blogspot.com/ and  http://www.glasstips.blogspot.com/