Glass Casting (Please Help–I’m stuck)

Home Forums Glass Fusing General Fusing Discussion Glass Casting (Please Help–I’m stuck)

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I am just learning glass casting and need some help with problems I have encountered.  My pieces have come out with alot of the plaster stuck to the piece.  It take alot of effort to get the plaster off and the whole piece ends up with a cloudy white appearance–this cloudiness is so bad that you can’t tell the color of the glass. 

-1-  Can this be caused by silica that is too old?

-2-  Is there something I can coat the plaster mold with to prevent this?

The other problem I am having is with the clay that I am using to make my mold.  After my plaster/ silica has set, the clay sticks to the mold.  I guess you can expect a little sticking, but this is so bad that I have to scrape almost the entire inside of the mold to get the clay out.

-3-  Is there a special clay that you can use to prevent this from happening?    or

-4-  Is there a release agent to put on the clay to get the sculpted clay to come out of the mold without leaving behind clay?

Now that I have these piece that are so cloudy, and have clay(that I missed while scraping the mold) baked into the surface of the glass=

-5-  What can I do to improve the surface of the glass?

My last problem is that I used too much glass and it ran over the top of the mold.  I used water displacement in order to determine how much glass to use, and I thought I was being very precise, but I ended up with too much glass.

-6-  What is the best way to determine how much glass to put into the mold?

I REALLY appreciate any help that anyone can offer to me…I don’t want to continue until I find out what is wrong with my technique.

Mike

Anonymous
    Inactive

-1-  Can this be caused by silica that is too old?