FULL ramp??? HELP

Home Forums FusedGlass.Org Website Help Forum Help FULL ramp??? HELP

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    FusionJulie
    Participant

Hello – I am new to fusing and this site.  I have a silly question, what does FULL mean for the ramp speed when you have a target of 1515?  Am I to set the rate to 1515/hr?  Still learning!!!

I have a Paragon Caldera with Sentry Xpress 4.0 Digital Controller.

Many Thanks

Anonymous
    Inactive

“FULL” tells the kiln to heat (or cool) as quickly as possible – as in “full speed”.  For heating, this means elements on until you reach the target.  For cooling, elements off until you reach the target.

You program FULL by entering 9999.

1515 is the target – not the ramp speed.

Paul
    FusedGlass.Org
    Helios Kiln Glass Studio
    PaulTarlow.com

macmamma
    Participant

I have the exaxt same kiln as you.  Full means “As Fast As Possible.”  In most cases you will be heating your glass up slowly and once it is past the 2nd or 3rd segment (when thermal shock danger has passed) you can many times safely bring the heat up FULL — As Fast As Possible. In your case, let’s say your glass had reached 1150ºF and your next desired target temp. was 1515ºF.  By programing in “FULL”  speed the kiln would increase the temp. from 1150ºF to 1515ºF  as fast as it could. It’s just like running faster when your near the finish line.  In previous segments you may have programmed it to heat up at 300ºF per hour until it reached a desired target temp.

Another time you will use “FULL” is whan your glass has reached its maxium heat target temp. and it’s time to cool the glass down.  You’ll want to bring it down “FULL” speed from 1515ºF to let’s say 960ºF.  At 960ºF the glass will soak for a set time.