Difficulty with spiking after full fusing

Home Forums Glass Fusing General Fusing Discussion Difficulty with spiking after full fusing

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    glassy
    Participant

Hi! I am a beginner. I have fired twice with my new kiln. The first schedule included spikes so I tried a different one…. in the hopes that the schedule was the cause. I still had spiking. I am making pendants. They are nicely rounded and have no hazing. Out of a batch of about twenty pendants there is only one that has broken. The pre-fired pieces fit together well. Only a few of them had to be grinded. I have heard the problem might be the result of: overheating, firing too long, as well as fiber paper holding the piece  too big. My fiber paper comes out flat after the firings. This is not the cause. Has anybody had spiking? If so, have you found what causes it? Is there a schedule you rely on that seems to eliminate it? If anybody would like to view my two schedules I can list them. Perhaps you will notice something that needs to be adjusted or eliminated. Maybe it is not the schedule, but something else in my fusing practice. ?

Thanks for your advice!

Anonymous
    Inactive

A couple of things to help us help you Smile :

• Please post your firing schedules
    • Define what you mean by “spikes”
    • Exactly how is the kiln shelf prepared

Thanks,
    Paul

FusedGlass.Org
    Helios Kiln Glass Studio
    PaulTarlow.com

glassy
    Participant